Ultra-chromaticism at the House of Nobility 6.11.2017

Monday 6th of November 2017 at 6 pm
Ritarihuone / The House of Nobility, Ritarikatu 1, Helsinki
Tomas Djupsjöbacka, conductor
Elisa Järvi, quarter-tone piano
Eero Saunamäki, recorder

The Chamber Orchestra Avanti! has been a trend-setter in Finnish musical life since its founding over three decades ago. In their PianoEspoo performance, the ensemble offers two world-premieres: a recorder concerto by Jukka Tiensuu featuring Eero Saunamäki as soloist, and a concerto by Sampo Haapamäki for quarter-tone piano. The soloist Elisa Järvi has worked for several years with the composer to develop an innovative new keyboard instrument to accommodate Haapamäki’s expanding sonic vistas.

Charles De Lusse: 
Air à la Grecque (1760)
Jukka Tiensuu: Recorder concerto // new work
Sampo Haapamäki: Quarter-Tone Piano Concerto  // new work

Concert is a part of PianoEspoo Festival 3.–19.11.2017.

Tickets from Lippupiste, including the service fees. Buy tickets here.
Normal price 33,50 €
Pensioners 27,50 €
Students, unemployed, servicemen, children 17,50 €

The Sibelius Fund of the Society of Finnish Composers appropriated Avanti! a grant for commissioning Sampo Haapamäki’s composition. These Successors of Sibelius grants were awarded to the member orchestras of the Association of Finnish Symphony Orchestras for commissioning a composition from a member of the Society of Finnish Composers. All these new pieces of music will be premièred during the centenary year of independent Finland, 2017.